Back Tennessee Williams: Plays 1937–1955

Tennessee Williams: Plays 1937–1955

The Glass Menagerie | A Streetcar Named Desire | Summer and Smoke | The Rose Tattoo | Camino Real | Cat on a Hot Tin Roof | 14 other plays More
Edited by Kenneth Holditch and Mel Gussow

“The Library of America has published Tennessee Williams’s essential ’Plays’—33 of them—in two volumes totaling about 2,000 pages. Not every play is included here, but these two volumes constitute all that matter, the works of a master of his craft, with all the author’s introductions, notes, and pertinent essays.”— The Los Angeles Times Book Review

ISBN: 978-1-88301186-4 1054 pages

LOA books are distributed worldwide by Penguin Random House

N° 119 Library of America Series

Subscribers can purchase the slipcased edition by signing in to their accounts.

Library of America

A champion of America’s great writers and timeless works, Library of America guides readers in finding and exploring the exceptional writing that reflects the nation’s history and culture.

Learn More

From poetry, novels, and memoirs to journalism, crime writing, and science fiction, the more than 300 volumes published by Library of America are widely recognized as America’s literary canon.

Browse our books Subscribe

With contributions from donors, Library of America preserves and celebrates a vital part of our cultural heritage for generations to come.

Support our mission