Benjamin Franklin Scott F. Fitzgerald William Faulkner James T. Farrell Ralph Waldo Emerson W.E.B Du Bois Theodore Dreiser Fredrick Douglass John Dos Passos Stephen Crane James Fenimore Cooper Kate Chopin
American Literature by American Writers.
Sign up for E-Mail View CartMy Account
Roth, Philip - Novels 2001-2007

Philip Roth

Novels 2001-2007

The Dying Animal • The Plot Against America • Exit Ghost

A collection of three tour de force novels from Roth’s remarkable late period, including The New York Times bestseller, The Plot Against America

The Library of America’s definitive edition of Philip Roth’s collected works continues with the novels written in his late sixties and early seventies.

The Dying Animal (2001) completes the chronicle of the erotic metamorphoses of David Kepesh, depicted previously in The Breast and The Professor of Desire. Here Kepesh is over sixty when he sets out to seduce Consuela Castillo, his decorous student of twenty-four, the daughter of wealthy Cuban exiles. Unintentionally, Consuela subverts his well-ordered life with an adventure deformed by jealousy that evolves into a story of grim loss. Roth again entangles the fate of his characters with the social forces that shape our daily lives—in The Dying Animal, with the consequences of the sexual revolution of the 1960s.

When the renowned aviation hero Charles A. Lindbergh defeated Franklin Roosevelt in the 1940 presidential election, fear invaded every Jewish household in America, first because Lindbergh had publicly blamed the Jews for pushing America toward a pointless war with Nazi Germany and then because, once having taken office, he negotiated a cordial “understanding” with Adolf Hitler. What followed for Jews during the Lindbergh presidency—most particularly in the Newark household of the boy Philip Roth—is the subject of The Plot Against America (2004), the fifth of the author’s Roth books.

Exit Ghost (2007) presents the final chapter in the extraordinary literary odyssey of Nathan Zuckerman, begun in 1979’s The Ghost Writer. Like a latter-day Rip Van Winkle, Zuckerman returns to New York after eleven years to find a city radically changed by the dramatic events of the new century. A rash decision quickly propels him into a complex of relationships that will expose him once more to the irresistible force of attraction, the limits of art, and the inevitability of decay.

Ross Miller, volume editor, is Professor of English and Comparative Literature at the University of Connecticut and has taught at Yale, Wesleyan, and Trinity College. He is the author of American Apocalypse: The Great Fire and the Myth of Chicago and Here’s the Deal: The Buying and Selling of a Great American City.

Other volumes in the Library of America Philip Roth edition:
Novels and Stories 1959–1962
Novels 1967–1972
Novels 1973–1977
Zuckerman Bound: A Trilogy & Epilogue 1979–1985
Novels and Other Narratives 1986–1991
Novels 1993–1995
The American Trilogy 1997–2000

Copyright 1995–2011 Literary Classics of the United States, Inc.
Contact Us | Privacy and Security

LOA Web Store
List price: $35.00
Web store price: $31.50
Free shipping in the U.S.
Phone orders: 1-800-964-5778
Request product #202517
Subscription Account Holders: Buy the cream-slipcased edition at the Customer Service Center.
Booksellers/Libraries: LOA books are distributed worldwide by the Penguin Group.
ISBN: 978-1-59853-198-5
693 pages
More purchasing options
Barnes and Noble
Other options

Make a tax-deductible gift of volumes to a library of your choice.