Back Laura Ingalls Wilder: The Little House Books (boxed set) add to cart

Laura Ingalls Wilder: The Little House Books (boxed set)

Little House in the Big Woods | Farmer Boy | Little House on the Prairie | On the Banks of Plum Creek | By the Shores of Silver Lake | The Long Winter | Little Town on the Prairie | These Happy Golden Years | The First Four Years
Edited by Caroline Fraser

“A new two-volume edition of the Little House books from the Library of America stakes a claim for Wilder’s work as an enduring part of the country’s literary heritage—not just a journal of a frontier girlhood meant to amuse children, but skillfully crafted literature. The Little House books are a valuable eye-witness account of a fascinating and fleeting time in America’s history. They are also first-rate fiction, with gripping drama and finely drawn characters—particularly the author’s alter ego, Laura Ingalls, who thrives on the edge of civilization and is ambivalent about settling down into adulthood. Wilder’s straightforward, plainspoken style, with its occasional bursts of lyricism, has aged well—though she is speaking about the past, she seldom seems to be speaking from the past.”—Commonweal

add to cart
60.00 List Price: $80.00 (Save: 25%) Free shipping

Phone orders: 1-800-964-5778 Request product #210021

ISBN: 978-1-59853-162-6 1490 pages

LOA books are distributed worldwide by Penguin Random House

Library of America

A champion of America’s great writers and timeless works, Library of America guides readers in finding and exploring the exceptional writing that reflects the nation’s history and culture.

Learn More

From poetry, novels, and memoirs to journalism, crime writing, and science fiction, the more than 300 volumes published by Library of America are widely recognized as America’s literary canon.

Browse our books Subscribe

With contributions from donors, Library of America preserves and celebrates a vital part of our cultural heritage for generations to come.

Support our mission