Back Dawn Powell: Nine Novels 1930–1962 (two volumes) add to cart

Dawn Powell: Nine Novels 1930–1962 (two volumes)

Dance Night | Come Back to Sorrento | Turn, Magic Wheel | Angels on Toast | A Time to Be Born | My Home Is Far Away | The Locusts Have No King | The Wicked Pavilion | The Golden Spur
Edited by Tim Page

“As far as I know, Dawn Powell’s novels are not on a syllabus at any American university. Yet she is wittier than Dorothy Parker, dissects the rich better than F. Scott Fitzgerald, is more plaintive than Willa Cather in her evocation of the heartland and has a more supple control of satirical voice than Evelyn Waugh, the writer to whom she’s most often compared.”—Lisa Zeidner, The New York Times Book Review

add to cart
42.50 List Price: $70.00 (Save: 39%) Free shipping

Phone orders: 1-800-964-5778 Request product #230012

2037 pages

LOA books are distributed worldwide by Penguin Random House

Library of America

A champion of America’s great writers and timeless works, Library of America guides readers in finding and exploring the exceptional writing that reflects the nation’s history and culture.

Learn More

From poetry, novels, and memoirs to journalism, crime writing, and science fiction, the more than 300 volumes published by Library of America are widely recognized as America’s literary canon.

Browse our books Subscribe

With contributions from donors, Library of America preserves and celebrates a vital part of our cultural heritage for generations to come.

Support our mission