Dashiell Hammett Alexander Hamilton Ulysses S. Grant Robert Frost Benjamin Franklin Scott F. Fitzgerald William Faulkner James T. Farrell Ralph Waldo Emerson W.E.B Du Bois Theodore Dreiser Fredrick Douglas
American Literature by American Writers.
Sign up for E-Mail View CartMy Account
Wilder, Laura Ingalls - The Little House Books (boxed set)

Laura Ingalls Wilder

The Little House Books (boxed set)

Little House in the Big WoodsFarmer BoyLittle House on the PrairieOn the Banks of Plum CreekBy the Shores of Silver LakeThe Long WinterLittle Town on the PrairieThese Happy Golden YearsThe First Four Years

“The Little House books are serious works, meticulous firsthand accounts of a family’s struggle to survive in a harsh and unfamiliar world. They are also lyrical—even romantic—in their depiction of the effects of terrible losses, of crops, homes, and health, and of deep poverty on the people of the small towns and farms of the prairies.” —Caroline Fraser

Read an interview with editor Caroline Fraser on Reader's Almanac, the Library of America blog

In the Little House books, Laura Ingalls Wilder created both a much-loved masterwork of children’s literature and a vivid firsthand narrative of an epoch in the settling of America. Now The Library of America and editor Caroline Fraser present all nine of these autobiographical novels in a deluxe two-volume boxed set that celebrates Wilder as a distinctive and vital voice in the canon of American literature.

Originally published from 1932 to 1943, the eight Little House novels—Little House in the Big Woods, Farmer Boy, Little House on the Prairie, On the Banks of Plum Creek, By the Shores of Silver Lake, The Long Winter, Little Town on the Prairie, and These Happy Golden Years—are brilliant narratives of the early life of Laura Ingalls and her family as they grow up with the country in the woods and on the plains of the advancing American frontier. They are joined here by the posthumous novella The First Four Years, which recounts the early years of the author’s marriage to Almanzo Wilder and, as a special feature, four rare autobiographical pieces that address the need for historical accuracy in children’s literature, reveal real-life events not included in the novels, and answer the inevitable question: what happened next?

The Little House Books are presented by The Library of America without the illustrations and typographical trappings of editions for young readers. Here Wilder’s prose for the first time stands alone and can be seen for exactly what it is—a triumph of the American plain style.

Caroline Fraser, editor, is the author of God’s Perfect Child: Living and Dying in the Christian Science Church and Rewilding the World: Dispatches from the Conservation Revolution. She has written on Laura Ingalls Wilder and other subjects for publications including The New York Review of Books, London Review of Books, The Atlantic, and The New Yorker.

These volumes are available separately in the standard Library of America black series jackets.

Also of interest:
Louisa May Alcott: Little Women, Little Men, Jo's Boys
Willa Cather: Complete Fiction and Other Writings (3 volumes)

Copyright 1995–2011 Literary Classics of the United States, Inc.
Contact Us | Privacy and Security

LOA Web Store
List price: $75.00
Web store price: $60.00
Free shipping in the U.S.
Phone orders: 1-800-964-5778
Request product #210021
Booksellers/Libraries: LOA books are distributed worldwide by the Penguin Random House.
ISBN: 978-1-59853-162-6
1512 pages
More purchasing options
Barnes and Noble
Other options

Make a tax-deductible gift of volumes to a library of your choice.