Back The Collected Poems of W. S. Merwin (boxed set)

The Collected Poems of W. S. Merwin (boxed set)

A Mask for Janus | Dancing Bears | Green with Beasts | The Drunk in the Furnace | The Moving Target | The Lice | The Carrier of Ladders | Writings to an Unfinished Accompaniment | The Compass Flower | Opening the Hand | The Rain in the Trees | Travels | The Vixen | The Folding Cliffs | River Sound | The Pupil | Present Company | The Shadow of Sirius | new and uncollected poems
Edited by J. D. McClatchy

“Merwin’s awesome range, intensity, and feral strangeness are evident in a new two-volume Library of America edition, beautifully edited by J. D. McClatchy. Nearly 1,500 pages in all, it represents an oeuvre so large as to make Robert Lowell’s prodigious output seem puny. It is not the sheer amount collected here, however, which transports, but the radical evolution arcing through its pages, like an explosive chemical reaction that is still ongoing.”—John Freeman, Virginia Quarterly Review

48.75 List Price: $75.00 (Save: 35%) Free shipping

Phone orders: 1-800-964-5778 Request product #

ISBN: 978-1-59853-207-4 1531 pages

LOA books are distributed worldwide by Penguin Random House

Library of America

A champion of America’s great writers and timeless works, Library of America guides readers in finding and exploring the exceptional writing that reflects the nation’s history and culture.

Learn More

From poetry, novels, and memoirs to journalism, crime writing, and science fiction, the more than 300 volumes published by Library of America are widely recognized as America’s literary canon.

Browse our books Subscribe

With contributions from donors, Library of America preserves and celebrates a vital part of our cultural heritage for generations to come.

Support our mission